Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
Gruff Rhys Free Music


Gruff Rhys Free Music

Gruff Rhys

Real name: Gruffudd Maredudd Bowen Rhys

Effective period / Period of releases: 2005 - 2019

Singer, guitarist and main songwriter with Super Furry Animals.

Prior to Super Furry Animals's formation, Gruff played in a number of other bands, including the Creation Records-signed Emily, and Ffa Coffi Pawb.

Eclectic and eccentric, Gruff Rhys has released four solo albums. His debut album Gruff Rhys - Yr Atal Genhedlaeth released in 2005 and recorded entirely in his native Welsh language, followed by Gruff Rhys - Candylion released in 2007 and Gruff Rhys - Hotel Shampoo released in 2011 which was the winner of the inaugural Welsh Music Prize in 2011. He released Gruff Rhys - American Interior in 2014.

In 2008 Gruff collaborated with Boom Bip and released Neon Neon - Stainless Style, a concept album with a string of guest musicians. The album was based on the rise and fall of John De Lorean, the founder of the De Lorean Motor Company. Their next collaboration, Neon Neon - Praxis Makes Perfect, was released in 2013. This was also a concept album and based on the life of Italian publisher and leftwing activist Giangiacomo Feltrinelli.

In 2010 Gruff collaborated with Brazilian eccentric Tony da Gatorra to release Gruff Rhys, Tony Da Gatorra - The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness. In addition to this Gruff has collaborated with a host of other musicians, most notably for vocals for the track 'Just War' on Danger Mouse, Sparklehorse - Dark Night Of The Soul and 'Superfast Jellyfish' from Gorillaz - Plastic Beach.

More Pictures of Gruff Rhys

External Pages