Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
Eastman Wind Ensemble Free Music


Eastman Wind Ensemble Free Music

Eastman Wind Ensemble

Real name: The Eastman Wind Ensemble

Effective period / Period of releases: 1953 - 1999

Members: Frederick Fennell, Mike Gurfield, Megan Bledsoe, Rick Williams (4), Heather Zinninger, Allen Fogle, Cherry Tsang, Sheryl Hadeka, Doug O'Connor, Chris Slagle, Pamela Daniels, Brett Long (2), Peter Thompson (16), Barbara Larson, Alex Reeder, Haley Bangs, Carly Kulawitz, Angelo Occhionero, Rey Cortes (3), Bill Osinski, Dan Nebel, Emlyn Johnson (2), Helen Kong, Katherine Bonner (2), David Bruestle, Barbara Hull, Tim Solinger, T.J. Ricer, Scott Switzer (2), Jung Choi, Richard Chen (2), Alison Chung, Kate Denny (3), Kasumi Leonard, Rick Stiles, Chris van Hof (2), Andy Brown (34), Brian Bonnell, Ellen Breakfield, Jennifer Hostler, Isabel Kim, Emily Britton, Brian Wahrlich, Jason Shafer, Matt Stuver, Lucy Haslar, Nathan Jonnson, Chih-Huan Wu, David Warren (8), Geoffrey Sauner, Matt Osik, Tim Shneier, Jacqueline Phaneuf, Robby McCabe, Sophia Goluses, Dale McElhone, Jeremy Fain

American concert band founded by Frederick Fennell at the Eastman School of Music in 1952. Its core of about 50 performers includes undergraduate and graduate students of the Eastman School at the University of Rochester.

Fennell formulated the general concept of the wind ensemble at Eastman more than 50 years ago. Under his leadership the group became known as the pioneering force in the symphonic wind band movement in the United States and abroad. A. Clyde Roller served as conductor between 1962 and 1964, continuing the tradition established by Fennell. Donald Hunsberger became conductor in 1965 and led the ensemble for 37 years to international prominence. The ensemble’s current director, Mark Scatterday, was introduced as the fourth conductor of this prestigious group during the EWE’s 50th anniversary celebration on February 8, 2002.

In 1987, the Eastman Wind Ensemble was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Classical Performance - Instrumental Soloist or Soloists (with or without orchestra) for its 1986 album Carnaval, a collaboration with trumpeter Wynton Marsalis.

External Pages