Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
Jonny L Free Music


Jonny L Free Music

Jonny L

Real name: John Lisners

Effective period / Period of releases: 1992 - 2013

Jonny L (often spelled as Johnny L) is a British drum and bass producer. He has also released music under the alias of Mr L and was one half of the UK garage duo True Steppers.

He first came to prominence with the 'rave' single "Hurt You So" in 1992 (That single would later be sampled and looped in the 1997 track "Oh Boy" by The Fabulous Baker Boys)
Before that he was an in-house engineer at Strongroom studios in London. He signed to XL Recordings, the same label as The Prodigy and SL2. He produced more rave singles such as "Ooh I Like It" and "Make Me Work."

In 1995, he changed direction making drum and bass records, beginning with "I'm Leavin'". With that he produced two other EPs before his first album Sawtooth in 1997. From this album, the hit single, "Piper" proved to be a success even though it was extreme in its sound, although on the album there were other electro-influenced tracks. By 1998 the next album, Magnetic, carried on in a similar vein.

He left XL to form his own record label, Piranha Records in 1999. He continued to produce singles, but these had a darker sound to them. He released a single on the record label Metalheadz in 2002 titled "Synkronize" / "Phreak". "Synkronize" featured vocal sampling speculated to be from Brian Harvey of East 17. Another album, 27 Hours A Day followed with the George W. Bush-sampling single "Let's Roll" in 2003.

Jonny also produced True Steppers' "Out of Your Mind", the hit single featuring Dane Bowers and Victoria Beckham, and also produced "Who Do You Think You Are" and "Do It Till We Drop" for S Club's 2002 album, Seeing Double. More recently, in 2007, he started a project with vocalist Paul Cumberbatch (aka Paul Vibe, who appeared on some of his singles) called Lo-Rider. They released two singles, the first, "Skinny" was released in 2006, with "Watch Me" being released in 2007. He produced a track called "1 N 2" on Hospital Records, for the compilation album Sick Music 2, released on 26 April 2010. On 26 November 2012, Sick Music 3 was released by Hospital Records, which contained his track "Moon."

More Pictures of Jonny L

External Pages