Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
The Cannonball Adderley Quintet Free Music


The Cannonball Adderley Quintet Free Music

The Cannonball Adderley Quintet

Effective period / Period of releases: 1958 - 2015

Members: George Duke, Blue Mitchell, Joe Zawinul, Cannonball Adderley, Nat Adderley, Julian Adderley, Bill Evans, Jimmy Cobb, Victor Feldman, Sam Jones, "Philly" Joe Jones, Louis Hayes, Bobby Timmons, Phil Upchurch, Walter Booker, Roy McCurdy, Barry Harris (2), Herbie Lewis, Victor Gaskin, Gilbert Rovère, Hal Galper

The Cannonball Adderley Quintet featured Cannonball on alto sax and his brother Nat Adderley on cornet.

Adderley's first quintet was not very successful; however, after leaving Miles Davis' group, he formed another, again with his brother, which enjoyed more success.

The new quintet (which later became the Cannonball Adderley Sextet), and Cannonball's other combos and groups, included such noted musicians as:

* pianists Bobby Timmons, Victor Feldman, Joe Zawinul, Hal Galper, Michael Wolff, George Duke, Wynton Kelly, Bill Evans
* bassists Ray Brown, Sam Jones, Walter Booker, Victor Gaskin
* drummers Louis Hayes, Roy McCurdy
* saxophonists Charles Lloyd, Yusef Lateef.

The sextet was noteworthy towards the end of the 1960s for achieving crossover success with pop audiences, but doing it without making artistic concessions

More Pictures of The Cannonball Adderley Quintet

External Pages