Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
La Sonora Matancera Free Music


La Sonora Matancera Free Music

La Sonora Matancera

Effective period / Period of releases: 1950 - 1996

Members: Justo Betancourt, Celia Cruz, Daniel Santos, José Rosario Chávez, Bienvenido Granda, Calixto Leicea, Lino Frias, Pedro Knight, Carlos M. Díaz, Celio González, Angel Alfonso Furias, Rogelio Martínez, Javier Vasquez, Alberto Beltrán, Carlos Argentino, Sonora Matancera, Nelson Pinedo, Papaito, Wuelfo, Rodolfo Hoyos, Myrta Silva, Severino Ramos, Willie (Baby) Rodriguez, Bienvenido León, Conjunto Tropicavana

Initially known as "Septeto Soprano", this Cuban group, created in 1924, adapted its name to "La Sonora Matancera" in 1932. From 1949 to 1950, Myrta Silva (a.k.a. "La Gorda De Oro") was the lead singer in this legendary Cuban salsa-group. Later, on August 3, 1950, Celia Cruz replaced Myrta Silva, who had returned to her native Puerto Rico. Celia Cruz left the group in 1965 only to be re-united 17 years later at a concert at Madison Square Gardens as a tribute to her.
After Rogelio Martínez died in 2001, it was the end of La Sonora Matancera.

La Sonora Matancera has been called, by the Guinness Book of World Records, "The group with the longest duration."

Not to be confused with Conjunto Gloria Matancera (with whom they kind of competed, coming from the same town: Matanzas) or Sonora Gloria Matancera.

More Pictures of La Sonora Matancera

External Pages