Save as Playlist     Clear     Source: YouTube

Share with your Friends
Material Free Music


Material Free Music


Effective period / Period of releases: 1979 - 2005

Members: Bill Laswell, Gary Mudbone Cooper, Robbie Shakespeare, Bernie Worrell, Foday Musa Suso, Jonas Hellborg, Jerome Brailey, Nile Rodgers, Bill Bacon, Robert Quine, Michael Hampton, Nicky Skopelitis, Fred Maher, Fred Frith, Michael Beinhorn, Henry Threadgill, Simon Shaheen, George Lewis, Aiyb Dieng, Jeff Bova, Thi-Linh Le, Olu Dara, Sonny Sharrock, Billy Bang, David Moss, Ginger Baker, Mark E. Miller, J.T. Lewis, Charles K. Noyes, Cliff Cultreri, Vikku Vinayakram, Michael Baklouk, Jihad Racy, Lowell Dunbar, Brian Carroll, Ali Jihad Racy

Experimental punk-jazz-funk-noise-electro band, founded in 1978 by bassist Bill Laswell and keyboard player Michael Beinhorn.
Material was not only a band name, but an alias for the intensive production work of the duo (for Afrika Bambaataa, Herbie Hancock, Nona Hendryx ...).

Michael Beinhorn left the 'band' in 1985. In the 90s, Material became more world/indian/afro/ambient/dub-oriented.

More Pictures of Material

External Pages